Just received my Empire Magazinge. This month they celebrate 20 years. Their guest editor is none other than Steven Spielberg! I can tell you the magazine is definetly worth purchasing.

Steven Spielbergs Guest Editor-In-Chief’s Letter

Dear Empire reader,

When Empire magazine first approached me to become Guest Editor-In-Chief of their 20th birthday issue, I immediately said, “Show me the money!” When they explained to me that it was going to be a labor of love, I realized that I had been an ardent admirer and avid reader of Empire magazine for the past 20 years. I said yes.

What you hold in your hands is the product of seven months of meetings, phone calls and emails with the Empire team. My role has included suggesting and selecting feature ideas (I’ve even picked this month’s spine line), approving layouts, choosing photographs and signing off finished proofs. All in all, the experience has been unprecedented and rewarding.

While moonlighting as Empire Editor-In-Chief, my day job was directing The Adventures Of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn. Just as I have never edited a magazine before, Tintin marks the first time I have ventured into the brave new world of motion-capture 3-D. Having just wrapped principal photography, I can honestly say I have found motion-capture to be liberating, daunting and breathtaking. I was blessed to have such a patient, talented mentor as Peter Jackson in my corner as co-producer and creative partner. While the fruits of our labor won’t reach the screen until 2011, I am proud to give you the world’s first look at Tintin today. You might just recognize the two newbie actors dressed up as Thomson and Thompson.


CLick here to go to Empire’s website and read the rest of the letter!

Go to Empires website now for more news!

